Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Fairfax Financial Holding Entrance Award

The Fairfax Financial Holdings Entrance Awards program is a partnership of Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited (whose Chairman and CEO is Canadian Association Member, Prem Watsa) and the Horatio Alger Association of Canada.  Through this partnership, some 45 scholarships will be awarded to selected youth residing in Canada who face significant financial obstacles to help them achieve a Canadian college or university diploma or degree.  


  • plan to enroll full-time at one of the eligible colleges/universities*
  • have graduated from high school or CEGEP within 18 months prior to applying
  • demonstrate financial need based on government student loan assessment from their home province
  • demonstrate academic readiness: minimum grade percentage of 80
  • Canadian citizenship or permanent residency
*Eligible colleges and universities are: Alberta: University of Calgary, SAIT Polytechnic British Columbia: Simon Fraser University, University of British Columbia, University of Victoria, Capilano University, Douglas CollegeManitoba: University of Manitoba, Red River College, Assiniboine Community College Newfoundland and Labrador: Memorial University, College of the North Atlantic Nova Scotia: Dalhousie University Ontario: University of Toronto, University of Waterloo, Georgian College, Seneca College, Sheridan College Quebec: McGill University, Laval University, O'Sullivan College of Montreal   Please contact your specific institution to find out how to apply for these awards. 

No comments:

Post a Comment